Lambert & Murray Finish First at National Team Selection Event

Winnipeg, December 1, 2019 – Samuel Murray of Baie-Comeau and Frédérique Lambert of Montréal have finished on top of the podium at Racquetball Canada’s National Team Selection Event held this weekend in Sherwood Park. Alberta. 17 of Canada’s top athletes competed in the tournament which ran from November 29 to 30.

Samuel Murray defeated Coby Iwaasa of Lethbridge in the men’s open final in two games with scores of 15-5, 15-8. Murray is ranked eighth on the International Racquetball Tour (IRT) and is the reigning men’s open champion in both singles and doubles.

Tim Landeryou of Saskatoon finished in third place but did not play his bronze medal match after Trevor Webb of Cambridge withdrew before the semifinals.

Frédérique Lambert of Montréal finished on top of the podium in the Women’s Open event with a win over Winnipeg’s Christine Richardson. Richardson took Lambert to a tie breaker after winning the first game 16-14, but Lambert came back to win the next two games 15-12, 11-2. Lambert was ranked as high as two on the Ladies Pro Racquetball Tour last season but is not playing on the tour this year due to her work commitments.

Michèle Morissette of Baie-Comeau, QC finished in third place with a win over Juliette Parent of St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC with scores of 15-7, 9-15, 11-9.

Results from the National Team Selection Event will be used to determine teams for international competition in 2020 including the Pan Am Championships and the World Championships.

In addition to the open events at the National Team Selection Event, there were several other age and skill categories. In total 63 players competed in the tournament.

Link to: Tournaments Draws and Results

Men’s Open Singles Results 

Gold Medal Match

(1) Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC) defeated (2) Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB), 15-5, 15-8.

Bronze Medal Match

(3) Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB) defeated (4) Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON), forfeit.

Semi Finals

(1) Murray defeated (4) Webb, 15-8, 15-8;

(2) Iwaasa defeated (3) Landeryou, 115-11, 15-10.

Quarter Finals

(1) Murray defeated Mitch Brayley (Calgary, AB), 15-6, 15-1;

(2) Iwaasa defeated Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK), 15-3, 15-6;

(3) Landeryou defeated Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK), 15-5, 15-10;

(4) Webb defeated Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK), 15-11, 15-11.

Round of 16

(1) Murray , bye;

(2) Iwaasa, bye;

(3) Landeryou, bye;

(4) Webb, bye;

(5) Connell, bye;

(6) Prentice defeated Naman Gauri (Lethbridge, AB), 15-8, 15-5;

(7) Frattinger defeated Jeff Buller (Grande Prairie, AB), 15-6, 15-1;

(9) Brayley defeated Michael Leduc (Québec, QC), forfeit.

Women’s Open Singles Results 

Gold Medal Match

(1) Frédérique Lambert (Montréal, QC) defeated (2) Christine Richardson  (Winnipeg, MB), 114-16, 15-012, 11-2.

Bronze Medal Match

(3) Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC) defeated (5) Juliette Parent (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC), 15-7, 9-15, 11-9.

5th Place Match

(4) Alexis Iwaasa (Sylvan Lake, AB) defeated (6) Cassie Prentice (Macrorie SK), 15-7, 9-15, 11-5.

Round Robin Play – Round 1

(1) Lambert defeated (5) Parent, 15-6, 15-6;

(2) Richardson defeated (6) Prentice, 15-1, 15-11.

Round Robin Play – Round 2

(5) Parent defeated (3) Iwaasa, 16-14, 15-0;

(4) Morissette defeated (6) Prentice, 15-13, 15-7.

Round Robin Play – Round 3

(1) Lambert defeated (3) Iwaasa, 15-2, 15-8;

(2) Richardson defeated (4) Morissette, 15-10, 15-11.

Men’s Open Singles Final Standings 

1. Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC)

2. Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB)

3. Tim Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK)

4. Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON)

5. Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK)

6. Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK)

7. Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK)

8. Mitch Brayley (Calgary, AB)

9. Jeff Buller (Grande Prairie, AB)

10. Naman Gauri (Lethbridge, AB)

11. Michael Leduc (Québec, QC)

Women’s Open Singles Final Standings 

1. Frédérique Lambert (Montréal, QC)

2. Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB)

3. Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC)

4. Juliette Parent (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC)

5. Alexis Iwaasa (Syvan Lake, AB)

6. Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, SK)

Racquetball Canada is the national sport governing body for the sport of Racquetball in Canada. Along with the support of the Government of Canada and many valued partners, Racquetball Canada develops competitive national teams and oversees programs that grow the sport of racquetball in Canada.